Member Driven - Future Focused
Proven Leadership - Proven Results

Welcome to my Page

Upcoming Speaking Engagements
July 11 - Corpus Christi AHU - Federal Legislative Update

June 18-20 SHRM Conference - New Orleans LA

June 22-28 - NAHU Convention - Orlando FL
*    Has Served on the NAHU Board of Trustees as Regional Vice President, Secretary and Vice President
*    Testified before the Senate Commission on State Affairs in Austin 
      Texas regarding the important and vital role of the Agent.       
*    Participated  in Governor Rick Perry's "Think Tank" meeting regarding 
      Healthcare options and trends for Texas
*    Testified in front of a Mock Congressional hearing for the University 
      of Texas and the Austin Community School District
*    Over 25 years in the insurance industry.  
*    Over 100 hours of Healthcare Reform presentations to agents,     
      Employers and the Public.  
*    Quoted in numerous publications on Healthcare Reform.  

Texas AHU Hollis Roberson Award Winner

San Antonion AHU Lifetime Achievement Award recipient

Texas AHU Shirley Hutzler Legislative Excellence Award recipient

NAHU Distiguished Service Award recipient

NAHU Presidential Citation Award recipient

TAHU Ken Martin Excellence in Communication Award Recipient

10 Year LPRT Qualifier

Emerald Level Tripple Crown Qualifier


Member Driven

- NAHU should establish different member levels to include producers and non-producers.  This alone will increase membership dramatically.

- We should establish Years of Service Discounts instead of discounts for joining.  This will increase our retention rate significantly.

- We should establish member focus groups from across the US to ensure we are meeting the needs of our members today and tomorrow.

- We should expand the products and services we provide to assist our members as they have had to expand their business portfolio. 

Future Focused

- NAHU 2020 - We need to establish long term goals to ensure we will continue to meet our members changing needs

- A unified focus by the Board of Trustees will make us stronger today and in the future

- We need to expand the services we offer to include
  • Technology Solutions, HR Administration, Worksite Marketing, Expanded Medicare Support, Property and Casualty & Financial Services

Recognition and Awards

 San Antonio Association of Health Underwriters (SAAHU)

2007                                Underwriter of the year
2009                                Dave Clark Lifetime Achievement Award

 Texas Association of Health Underwriters (TAHU)

2003    Public Service Award
2011    Ken Martin Excellence in Communications
2012    Shirley Hutzler Legislative Excellence Award
2015    Awarded TAHU Trustee Emeritus Status 
2016    Hollis Roberson Award

National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU)

 2005 - Chapter Awards Under Rusty’s SAAHU Presidency; 
Pacesetter Award, Public Service Award , Large Chapter Membership Gain Award, Overall Membership Champion Award
2010 - Distinguished Service Award
2010 - Presidential Citation
2010 - Chapter Awards under Rusty's TAHU Presidency; 
Landmark Award , Website Award, Media Relations Award, Legislative Excellence, Blue ribbon of Excellence, Most New Members – Large Chapter

Triple Crown Recipient 2004, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016

LPRT Recipient 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

Business Experience:
1993-1995 - Medicare HMO Sales (PacifiCare of Texas)
1999-2003 - Created and licensed a Single Service HMO vision plan for Eye Care Centers of America
2003- Present - Regional Vice President of Sales for Avesis Incorporated

Other Involvement
Served on Neighborhood Restrictions Committee
Served on the Faith Formation Board for his Church
Coached CYO athletics for 10 years
Served on the Eye Care Centers of America Quality Assurance and
Utilization Review Board
PacifiCare of Texas Foundation Allocation Committee and DECA Scholarship Steering Committee.  
Participated in the PacifiCare Role Model Program 
San Antonio District III Toastmasters Club 
Player/Coach for the UTSA Intercollegiate Softball team

Website Builder